On Tuesday, October 20, 2020, at 11:00 AM, the Honorable Reed B. Oliver, Governor of
Pohnpei State administered the oaths of office to seven new members of the Pohnpei Sports
Commission in the Governor’s Conference Room, Peilapalap, Kolonia.

Chairman of the Committee on Health, Hon. Senator Shelten Neth represented the Speaker of
the 10th Pohnpei State Legislature to initiate the new members of the Sports Commission.
Wahnparoan Kohne Ramon, Senior Pastor for UCCP Saipan presided over the Invocation.
The following were sworn in as members of the Pohnpei Sports Commission representing their
● Mr. Tadasy Shelten- Madolinihmw
● Mr. Jose Jacob- U
● Mr. Derrick Iehsi- Pingelap
● Mr. Omar Hadley- Kolonia
● Mr. Juity Hainrich- Nukuoro
● Mr. Joesen Habuchimai- Sokehs
● Mr. Nickson Dickepa- Kapingamarangi

Governor Oliver congratulated the new members, thanked Speaker Ausen T. Lambert and the
members of the 10th Pohnpei State Legislature for their support to confirm the new members of
the Sports Commission. He thanked the staff of the Sports and Recreation Division for their
work. Governor Oliver reiterated what Wahnparoan Ramon recited in his opening prayer, that
sports are not just about playing but being healthy for a better life. He noted that sporting
events have been affected due to the COVID19 pandemic, even the September 11 Liberation
Day games and is looking forward to what these new Commission members will do to promote
and highlight sports and health activities for the people of Pohnpei.

Chairman of the Pohnpei State Legislature’s Committee on Health, Senator Neth reminded all
that health is wellness and was also looking forward to the Sports Commission work in the
coming months. In handing out certificates of appointment, Senator Neth solicited the
assistance of his fellow Senators, Senator Hudson Abraham, Senator Jayson Walter, Senator
Ricky Carl, Senator Mitaro Simina, Senator Marvin Yamaguchi, Senator Helgena Johnson, and
the Mayor of Pingelap, Hon. Smithy Clark to present the certificates.

Mr. Joab Jose represented his colleagues to thank Governor Oliver for his trust in nominating
them and Speaker Lambert, Chairman Neth, and the members of the 10th Pohnpei Legislature
for their support in confirming them as new members of the Pohnpei Sports Commission.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.